top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Poplar Family

Meet our family

Updated: Jul 28, 2020

We are The Poplars, not the "populars", just, P-O-P-L-A-R, like the tree.

Breana Isbell Photography

Top-Nehemiah, Melvin III aka "MP3 or Laurence", Reginald, Jaden

Bottom-Amiya aka "Mighty Miya", Mom aka "Toya", Dad aka "Melvin or Proverbalist", Trinity


Welcome to our blog


Rooted in our faith, growing by God's grace, creating day by day.

Colossians 2:7

Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.


Quirky Creative Christians

This blog will serve as a way of doing life with family and connecting with new friends. To see some of our adventures search the hashtag (#poplarfamilyfun #dadgineering #dreamplancreatewithtoya, #wifeyworkshops) if we share something that inspires you feel free to share it with your peeps to help us grow our community. Our family has grown through the gift of adoption, so we are always opened to expanding our circle of family and friends. Go ahead, #hashtag and share away.


Our Story


When our big biological babies were little (12, 10 & 8 yrs), we adopted bonus babies (1, 2, & 3 yrs).

Back in 2011, my husband was the President of the parent teacher association at our kid's school. We were both serving as youth pastors at a church with a thriving youth group, and we owned a photography business that was beginning to blossom. Though life was full, it was still unfulfilled. Some evenings during dinner my husband would look around the dinner table and say, "I feel like we're not all here." My husband and I are high school sweethearts who always dreamed of having five children. Due to health concerns we stopped at three.


Have you ever had that aching feeling? That although life is full, it's unfulfilled? Secretly, I longed to have more children but when I thought of the challenges of pregnancy and how it would affect our children I would lay aside my hopes and feel my maternal void with caring for my friend's children. One day while scrolling through social media I saw where friends of ours who were empty nesters had obtained custody of a beautiful baby girl. I called that friend to congratulate her saying, "I'm so happy for you! I wish someone had a baby for me." She replied, "I know someone who might have three."


That was, August 30th, 2011. By September 5ht our beautiful baby boys were in our home. Very long story short. Or maybe it's appropriate to say short story long . . . Here we are in 2019 and our big babies are big and our little boys are no longer little.


Adoption is more than an option, it's awesome.


Our journey hasn't been easy but it has been worth it. There's nothing easy about rerouting three individual destinies. We often say, we set out to raise them and God has used them to grow us up in areas we didn't even know we needed to grow. So that's us, in a nutshell. That's how we came to be The Poplars, like the tree.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page