top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Poplar Family

Dadgineering

Updated: Oct 8, 2020

DIY is not a hobby, it's a way of life.








A Few of My Favorite Things


Hey Everybody,


It's my turn to introduce myself on The Poplar Family blog. I'm Melvin, aka Proverbalist, better known as Dad to my six kids. I enjoy spending time with family, helping my wife and kids reach their goals, remodeling, appliances, doing car repairs, making music, and dreaming of my ultimate project.




Why Dadgineering


In general, the Lord has blessed the work of my hands. I seem to repair, build, or create something daily. Historically I have always made things. Even as a child, I used to build stuff. My dad would often say, "Boy, you gone be an engineer."






Technically Inclined


I was always taking something apart and figuring out how things worked. I continued to invent stugg in college and gained a reputation as a go-to person for robotics, car repair, invention ideas, or a haircut. Having a reputation for being technically inclined ultimately led to me getting a research scholarship that paid for my last year of college.



When Did You Start


My career after college has been computer science/engineering-based, covering several technical areas. Many people who would see my work over the years would ask me to build or repair something for them.


One at a time, requests kept coming, so I figured I would step out officially on a part time basis and see if I like it.



Word Travels Fast


Earlier this year I completed an attic conversion in my home. I built a bunk room that can accommodate an entire family. My wife shared some footage on Instagram and people started calling. The pandemic was the perfect time to launch. Everyone was home, naturally wanting to repair, renovate, or enhance their space. Since March, I've built everything from bookshelves to Murphy beds, and somehow became the bicycle repair guy in our neighborhood.













Home Improvements Start at Home


My wife enjoys adding things to her Honey Do List. I've crafted sofa sized frames, a farmhouse table, bookshelves, once I even built her a photography studio. I recently installed a gazebo that she practically lives in, and created a coffee bar. I've built bunk beds for my boys, desks for my girls, optimized closet spaces, and maximized our garage. Having a large family and a busy household gives ample opportunities to fix stuff.




Subscribe to my Dadgineering YouTube channel to see some of my repairs and projects.





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page